Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Howdy from NM

Abq, NM

Howdy from NM

Bought the HF lathe last winter thinking I'd turn a few pens for something to do... Well, as many of you know.... one thing leads to another, and since I live in the SW I thought pottery forms would be fun to make.
    I've been "hanging out" with new turnning friends at another forum, and when I went to send your very own Vaughn McM. some compliments on his gallery of work at another site.... and it seems that I live within a couple of blocks of his family - and we ran around with some of the same people at different times.
    He suggested I "come on down", so I'll behave! Im here for the party; have nothing to prove to anyone except myself; teachable, and willing to learn from all of you, and share whatever I may know that might be helpful to you. I have some prior experience with furniture, and countertops but the lathe is new to me.
    I have a mini monster hollowing system, a Nova G3 chuck on order (+1) and will assist santa's helpers in bringing a Delta 46-460 down the chimney. As you can see, my shop is the garage. Lil missie says anything I can fit in is ok, but the car has to go back in at the end of the night, or weekend. Hence the small lathe.
    Also, I do belong to the NM Woodturners, and realize that I can learn more in person that all the DVDs in the world.
    Oh yeah...Im totally addicted to turning and Im shunning the cure....if there is one!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails garage_r.jpg  
    Last edited by michael james; 10-18-2010 at 02:39 AM.

GTA Ontario Canada
    Welcome to the Family Michael. Can see you hung around with Vaughn just from your Avatar Ok now spill the beans on all the things you guys got up to that Vaughn has not already told us.

Hope you enjoy your stay.

somewhere east of Queen Creek, AZ - South East of Phoenix
    well michael we don't judge people by the company they keep, Welcome