Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Spice Rack

Spice Rack

This is a small project,but with some work that I have never tried before. There are some other projects that I would like to do that use this same type of joinery.....so thought I would try it out on somthing small first. I do not have a mortice machine,but would still like to try this. I made a sample of what the joint is supposed to look like to see if I could do it OK.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Through Mortice & tendon with wedge.JPG 
Views:	39 
Size:	143.9 KB 
ID:	51039 A through mortice & tendon with wedge.
    It went OK but it would be much better with the MM . Just dont know If I want to tie up $300.00 in one or not. But I guess I could find a lot of other projects to put it to use.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Joint on spice rack.JPG 
Views:	40 
Size:	114.4 KB 
ID:	51040 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Spice Rack.JPG 
Views:	60 
Size:	107.0 KB 
ID:	51041
    Do a lot of you guys have a Benchtop Mortice Machine? Or do you just drill & chisel as I did on this project.
    Thanks for any coments on to buy or not to buy!
    If you make a mistake it was part of the original plan!

Looks pretty good to me Ron

I have the Delta mortiser. I don't use it on every project but the ones I use it on make me happy that I spent the money for it. I found mine on CL. Brand new in the box for way less than 1/2 price.

It's definitely one of the handiest tools I own.
    Faith, Hope & Charity

I bought the HF model, when it was on sale and I had a 20% off coupon and got out the door for $99. I don't use it often but it's great when you need it.

I know some don't take a second look at HF power tools but I've never had anything but good luck with them.
    Jesus was a Woodworker

I like the wedged tenon detail. Doesn't look like you had any problems with cutting the mortises to me!

somewhere east of Queen Creek, AZ - South East of Phoenix