Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hi yall

Hi yall

I been here a few days, just now noticed the welcome and intro thread.

I live in middle Tennesse, about an hour South of Nashville. My dad was a hardwood floor finisher for about 50 years. He also worked as a trim and finish carpenter at times and had a small farm. I suppose, being around woodwork growing up, I absorbed at least some knowledge of working and finishing wood, but I never did woodworking as an occupation. I have always done what I call handywork around the house, shelves, boxes, stuff like that. My occupation is mostly in engineering. Over the last 40 years I have worked as electrician, electronics tech., draftsman, plant engineer, project engineer, engineering manager and presently a project manager.

For the last year I have been working to build a full wood shop in my basement. I have acquired most of the major tools I need and am building a nice heavy workbench. My bench is about 90% done.

I am also a part owner of a retail jewelry store where I design and manufacture some jewelry and do some of the jewelry repair work.

My most recent tool purchase was a mini lathe. I hope to do some custom pieces to sell in the jewelry store. Will probably start with wine bottle stoppers and pens and maybe work up to bowls.

Okay, that's probably more than you wanted to know about me, but it's good to know where someone is coming from sometimes.
    Last edited by Michael Harmon; 11-27-2010 at 09:22 AM. Reason: typo

somewhere east of Queen Creek, AZ - South East of Phoenix
    Hey Michael, welcome....
    "There’s a lot of work being done today that doesn’t have any soul in it. The technique may be the utmost perfection, yet it is lifeless. It doesn’t have a soul. I hope my furniture has a soul to it." - Sam Maloof
    The Pessimist complains about the wind; The Optimist expects it to change;The Realist adjusts the sails.~ William Arthur Ward

North West Indiana