Pot-o-whatever

Jim Burr

Just another HF with a big opening. So I thought...let's put a lid on it.:eek:..oops, never done a lid...oh!! let's put a knob on it:eek:...oops...never done a knob. So, this is a piece of English walnut and a Redwood (I swore I'd never touch again):doh: lid and a black walnut knob. Nothing is glued and all but the pot may end up in the marshmallow toaster. One coat of WoP after a 600 sanding. Easy now;)...some of this is my first time :eek:
4" at the fat spot...4"H

Attachments

• pot1.jpg
    pot1.jpg
    52 KB · Views: 30
  • pot2.jpg
    pot2.jpg
    52 KB · Views: 31
  • pot3.jpg
    pot3.jpg
    51.4 KB · Views: 34
  • pot4.jpg
    pot4.jpg
    60.5 KB · Views: 29
Jim,
I like the pot and the lid and I like the handle but not on that pot/lid. To my eye the handle takes away from the pot, I would have prefered something shorter maybe a round top, If you want to embelishment it put a groove on it.

Now that just my humble opinion and we all know about opinions

It has a look like something that might have been in an old time herbalists shoppe or apothecary... With something strange inside! :thumb: :thumb:

Nice chunk o walnut there, amigo! I like it, except... using three random wood species says scrap mock up to my eye. Im probably too OCD about symmetry and balance and think that if you used 1 contrasting, or different wood sandwiched between the handle and pot it would work just fine for me.
Just my .02 - keep em coming!
mj

Jim,
I like the pot and the lid and I like the handle but not on that pot/lid. To my eye the handle takes away from the pot, I would have prefered something shorter maybe a round top, If you want to embelishment it put a groove on it.

Now that just my humble opinion and we all know about opinions

My thought to Don...squaty bottom and a thin top doesn't always work. Leaning to a flair'd round knob.