Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: new issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    224

    new issue

    I don't post much anymore, but a moment ago I did a reply to a thread then when I hit the "new posts" button I got the following page. I did a number of refresh clicks and back buttons but still came up with the following page. I finally had to open a new window all together to get into the forum.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Nova Scotia's beautiful south shore
    Posts
    443
    Quote Originally Posted by Doug Jones View Post
    I don't post much anymore, but a moment ago I did a reply to a thread then when I hit the "new posts" button I got the following page. I did a number of refresh clicks and back buttons but still came up with the following page. I finally had to open a new window all together to get into the forum.
    Same here. I waited and re-opened from an email message.
    All the best,
    Ian G

    **Now holding auditions for a catchy new signature**

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    361
    I think the problem is intermittent. I got it both before and after you posted your message. I haven't opened any new browser windows, just refreshed.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,434
    got it as well. Thought maybe we needed to upgrade....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Mountain Home, Arkansas
    Posts
    11,697
    Ditto. Wasshappenin' ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Georgia
    Posts
    1,396
    I'm having a look into it now.

    Sorry for the inconvenience...

    - Marty -
    Fivebraids, Inc.
    When you earnestly believe you can compensate for a lack of skill by doubling your efforts, there’s no end to what you can’t do…

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Georgia
    Posts
    1,396
    Ok folks, it seems that we were indeed using excessive amounts of CPU, due to the size and condition of our database. I just optimized our database, which should help the problem. If it doesn't, I'll have to take more drastic measures, but those measures will have to be performed during the middle of the night or something, since I'll have to take the site down to perform them. Let's hope that's not necessary.

    In the interim, I'm heading back out to get back to laying flooring. If anyone gets those same error messages, please update this thread, and please include the time you got the message. No need for a screen print showing the message, just a quick-n-dirty post with time recieved.

    (By the way, I only need a general idea of when the problem occurs, so if someone already posted that they got the error msg, and you got it a few minutes later, no need for the duplicate posts. Thanks...)

    Thanks for your patience...and again, sorry for the inconvenience.

    - Marty -

    P.S. For all you non-computer folks...We were trying to cram ten pounds of potatos into a five pound sack. The extra effort to cram them in was using too much computer power on our host, so they throttled us back to keep us from making their computer glow red-hot.

    I've increased the size of the sack, and tossed out a few potatos.
    Fivebraids, Inc.
    When you earnestly believe you can compensate for a lack of skill by doubling your efforts, there’s no end to what you can’t do…

  8. #8
    Steve Clardy Guest
    I got a email from Mike W. wondering what wuz up. He got the same screen.
    I haven't got it [yet]

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Lakeport NY and/or the nearest hotel
    Posts
    5,533
    I don't recall when it was, but earlier today I had a couple of times when I pinged out, didn't get that error msg, but did have a problem connecting. It was between shoveling bouts, but If it continues I'll chime in.
    -Ned

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    ABQ NM
    Posts
    29,085
    FYI Marty, I got the error message today at about 3:45 Pacific time. Got the same trying to open the Admin CP, too. It's sounding like it might be tune-up time. I think moving the pics to the file system might be a good start, as will be rebuilding the index.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

    workingwoods.com

Similar Threads

  1. HF Pin nailer issue
    By Darren Wright in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-31-2013, 12:43 PM
  2. Login issue
    By Mohammad Madha in forum Site Questions and Test Posts
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-08-2012, 10:01 PM
  3. Standard Issue?
    By Wes Bischel in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-17-2009, 08:39 AM
  4. WoodSmith issue #116
    By Doug Jones in forum General Woodworking Q&A
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-13-2008, 12:06 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •