Is this a good lathe to buy ?

KENNY DYAL

Hi ,My name is Kenny. This is my first post on this forum. I hope i get it right . i am new to woodturning and I am about to purchase my first lathe from someone on Kijiji (picture attached). I was told it can do up to 45" in length and i think it has a 1HP motor . Can i get some opinions on it , please ? Do you think it would be good for a beginner ?Thanks .

Attachments

• 5282f41_20.jpeg
    5282f41_20.jpeg
    66.9 KB · Views: 84
The guy was asking 250 but i offer 200 and he said ok. It also comes with all the tools in the second picture .

Attachments

• 3918dd5_20.jpeg
    3918dd5_20.jpeg
    65 KB · Views: 66
Before yo buy it make sure it runs. With it running look at the drive end to see if there is any wobble. Also with it turned off bring the tail right up to the drive center to check that they line up.:thumb:
It's hard to tell from the pics but the tool rest seems to be missing a piece. Make sure that it has all the parts to bolt it to the rails.
If the drive wobbles or the head and tail don't line up put your cash away and walk.

Last edited:
Welcome aboard Kenny!

Did he provide a brand name for it?

What kind of Morse Taper does the headstock have?

Hi Kenny,

I am a little further along in lathe land than you are---however, not much further. I just sold a Delta 42inch, turn 14 1/2 in diameter lathe. It looks new. It works great. I sold it for $200.

It had a cast iron bed which dampens vibration. With a spur drive in the headstock and a "pointy" (cone center) part in the tail stock the two points touch each other when the tail stock is moved up to the headstock. It runs smooth as glass.

It has an adapter that permits two different threaded accessories to be used.

From your picture I cannot tell what the chucks are nor can I tell the condition so I am no help there.

I will make a guess that you could have a better set of turning tools for Eighty dollars at Harbor Freight.