Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Cottonwood Turning Question ?

Cottonwood Turning Question ?

There is a guy cutting down a fallen Cottonwood tree and managed to pickup a truck load of it. However, I have never tried to turn cottonwood before. I tried to turn a pc when I got home today but it seems a bit of a pain to turn green - its comes off in long strands and has alot of punky kind of areas in some of it. However, I only tried a scap pc of it and did not the time to cut up some of the large trunks to try a better sample....
    Anybody ever turn any of it ??????????????

Kind of looking for a quick answer because I can pick up another load if I want it possibly on Saturday - after that it will become firewood or taken away.....................
    Thanks Dan
    First you have to learn the rules - Beginner
    Then you have to learn advanced rules - Professional
    Then you disregard the rules - This takes you to the master level................

somewhere east of Queen Creek, AZ - South East of Phoenix
    I did a search on cottonwood on the forum and came up with quit a few hits. Looks like nice stuff.
    "There’s a lot of work being done today that doesn’t have any soul in it. The technique may be the utmost perfection, yet it is lifeless. It doesn’t have a soul. I hope my furniture has a soul to it." - Sam Maloof
    The Pessimist complains about the wind; The Optimist expects it to change;The Realist adjusts the sails.~ William Arthur Ward

Don...........its has red and browns all over in it with alot of yellow around it .......................hope its good wood
    Then you disregard the rules - This takes you to the master level................

Most of what I've heard about cottonwood has said it's better in the fireplace than on the lathe, and it's not any good in the fireplace.