Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: canon sx30is

bethel springs TN, but was born and raised in north east PA

canon sx30is

I know i should of asked before i bought,but i didn't. Is this camera good for the price? I'm not good at pic taking so i thought if i got a little better than the point and shoot that i had ? After getting it home i hope i can figure it out. I also just ordered a photo tent so i'm hoping my pics will look a little more professional. I might have a bunch of questions to as as i try to learn this thing.
    Steve

Stephen, that should work for you just fine. It has very good resolution and image stabilization. I have used alot of different cameras. I think you will like this one. Just read through the manual and get to know it's features. The most important thing you will want to learn about with digital cameras is color balance. Setting it up for the proper white balance is important to having your final outcome be what you want it to be. Get yourself a simple 18% "gray" card at any camera store and use it. It's all in the manual.

Have fun with it and shoot, shoot,shoot.
    It's not what you achieve in life...It's what you overcome!

Vancouver Island, Courtenay/Comox Valley, British Columbia
    What Tom said +1.

I'd like to show you this article. It's the first 4 (out of 10) simple ways to improve your photography. This is my philosophy.

Knowing the camera and what it's capable of, is first. Start using a tripod if you don't already. Even a little one like this beats none.

Can't wait to see some photos!
    AKA Young Grasshopper Woodworker
    AKA The Rookie

That should be a very nice camera actually. With the size of the lens it has it's actually going to be great little light collector.

I've got a little sx200is and it really does quite a good job.