First try at a Celtic Knot

Mason Kuettel

I decided to go ahead and try the Celtic knot on one of my pens, but don't have a table saw or miter saw. All of the cuts were done with a hand saw and an old plastic miter box. I wasn't all that disappointed, but being a geometry teacher I was not completely satisfied with the symmetry--oh well.

Anyway, the finish is CA and I'm honestly not sure what the woods are since I didn't want to use anything fancy on the first try! Thanks for looking.

Attachments

• DSC_0116.JPG
    DSC_0116.JPG
    86.8 KB · Views: 84
  • DSC_0117.JPG
    DSC_0117.JPG
    82.2 KB · Views: 82
I'd give that one straight "A"s, teach. :thumb: Very nicely done, and proof a person doesn't need a shop full of tools to do nice work.

I'm pretty sure the dark wood is dunno heartwood, with some curly aintsure for the knot. :D

I think you did a great job. Nice thing about the handsaw is that you were able to get a very nice thin kerf for the inlays...

Did you cut all the way through the blank or did you just go almost all the way through? I found it a lot easier to get better symmetry when I stopped cutting all the way through.

I decided to go ahead and try the Celtic knot on one of my pens, but don't have a table saw or miter saw.
All of the cuts were done with a hand saw and an old plastic miter box.
Hello Mason; I guess no one ever told you a celtic knot can't be done that way! Next time pay closer attention.:rofl::rofl:
I wasn't all that disappointed, but being a geometry teacher I was not completely satisfied with the symmetry--oh well.
I see nothing wrong with the symmetry. It looks good to these old eyes. We are our greatest critics though.
Anyway, the finish is CA and I'm honestly not sure what the woods are since I didn't want to use anything fancy on the first try! Thanks for looking.
It really doesn't matter what the woods are, they look good together. I'll be waiting to see more of your work.