Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Table Saw Blade Guards

Vancouver Island, Courtenay/Comox Valley, British Columbia

Table Saw Blade Guards

Most of you know that I'm a beginner. I'm trying to learn as much as I can and develop good and safe habits.

I like working with my TS blade guard. In fact, I hate to take it off, and my instruction book says to never take it off. Also, it's not so easy to take it off. It's not a 30 second move.

There's a blade guard and a riving knife. It has become clear to me that it's impossible to make lots of different cuts with it on, and it seems that lots of you more experienced peeps never work with one.

So I'd like to ask what people do? Do you always keep it on? Do you sacrifice making certain cuts because you won't take it off? Take it off only when necessary? Take off the guard but not the riving knife? Always keep it off? How can I possibly use my saw to its fullest potential if I never take it off? I'm wondering how amateurs and professionals handle this.

Thanks for any and all replies.
    AKA Young Grasshopper Woodworker
    AKA The Rookie

IMHO, the splitter or riving knife is the more important component and less cumbersome than the blade guard. Historically I've been more likely to keep the riving knife in place than the guard, but I've recently added a BORK Blade Guard to my setup and it's less intrusive than other guards I've used in the past, so I try to keep it on whenever possible. Unfortunately, there are just some operations when neither is feasible to keep on.
    Got Wood?

ABQ NM
    I think you would be wise (as a beginner) to try to use your blade guard as much as possible, unless (or until) you see it being a hazard for a particular cut you are planning to make.