Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help needed on my Machinist Chest Cleanup

Help needed on my Machinist Chest Cleanup

Hello:

I picked up a machinists chest at an auction last night and want to clean it up.

In this picture it looks golden but thats due to the flash. In real life its a sticky finish in a muddy brown. The Keno brothers from Antiques Roadshow would kill me for wanting to remove the patina, but I want it to look a little nicer.

I'm new to refinishing and am looking for any and all advice on the matter.

I took the upper left drawer out and wiped all the gunk off with windex which didn't make a great improvement.

So . . .

My plan is to start on the drawers first. I'm thinking of using DNA and a scuff pad to remove the tacky finish. Then sand lightly with sandpaper and apply a shellac finish.

Any reason to use a finish remover/stripper as opposed to DNA?

Thanks in advance for any and all advice.

Cheers

Jim Mattheiss

somewhere east of Queen Creek, AZ - South East of Phoenix
    Jim,
    Go to the borg/hardware store of your choice and buy a bottle of Murphy's Oil soap. No reason to strip the finish.
    "Thereís a lot of work being done today that doesnít have any soul in it. The technique may be the utmost perfection, yet it is lifeless. It doesnít have a soul. I hope my furniture has a soul to it." - Sam Maloof
    The Pessimist complains about the wind; The Optimist expects it to change;The Realist adjusts the sails.~ William Arthur Ward

Don:

I'll have to try that. We had some here and must have gotten rid of it as it's not here anymore. . .

Jim

I'll second Don's recommendation for Murphy's Oil Soap. If the existing finish is shellac, DNA will likely cause problems by removing the finish along with the grime.

That's a great tool chest, by the way.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

workingwoods.com