Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which combination square?

Which combination square?

I use a 6" combination square for most of my layout chores. I've been using the one I have now for a couple of years. This is the second one that the little tab that goes in the grove on the rule has worn out. It will not hold the rule without the rule moving. I think the problem is that it's cast not machined. The metal is soft and it wares over time.

I'm looking at getting a double square, probably a 6". A starrett would be nice, but I don't want to drop that much change.

What do you use or would recommend?

Check out Rob's post (sorry, I'm going to make you search for it!) on the blue vialed empire combo squares. Not quite at the specs as the staret, but for around 10 bucks at Homey's you can't beat it. Made in USA and within .001 per inch. I tested mine with an engineers square and it was dead on and I'm picky. My larger 16" was only .005 out at full extension and it was less than $20. Just look for the blue vials on the empires.

I think you'll be happy with them. (they're not the double square, but...)

Brian
    That's not even a smile! That's just a bunch of teeth playing with my mind!

Take a look at lee valleys double squares, they come in 4 and 6 inch lengths (about $35)and there made in the US. Theres alot of other brands (SPI, PEC) that make the same square but there made in china.

http://www.leevalley.com/US/wood/pag...79&cat=1,42936

Oh and free shipping from lee valley march 18 to 28

Id stay away from those cheap squares at homedepot/ lowes, I have one of those 6" empire combination squares and the little tab has worn just like you said.

I believe the Empire square has an aluminum or zinc head. If you are wearing out a steel square you will surely wear out an aluminum/zinc square faster.

For the cost I think the Rockler, Woodcraft and Lee Valley house brands are nice.

Rockler Woodcraft