Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: From out of the box swap

From out of the box swap

I want to take a moment, a serious moment, and thank all involved for the box swap. I have had a blast doing it. Mine might not be the best by far, but I gave it a shot. I learned something from this. Larry even mentioned it when he was here. "Challenge yourself". I by nature am a safe woodworker. I take the easy route. I don't build much but novelty items. I stepped up a bit, learned a new thing or two.

I can't wait for next year.
    If you don't take pride in your work, life get's pretty boring.

Rule of thumb is if you donít know what tool to buy next, then you probably donít need it yet.

That is one of the things that swaps are about Steve To experience, share, expand, and on and on. My personal experience is, 1. failure 2. regroup 3. rethink 4. rebuild. I did two things i have NEVER tried before, and of those One of those is on my final box, but I have also learned thru those experiences Yes GOOD TIMES. And next year YA commitment already started

+1000 on that.

I'd like to go through maybe 5 more iterations of the box I built, but I tried something out of my comfort zone. It may not be perfect, but at this point, it is what it is, and I learned a lot from it.

And I think that's the whole point. It's not a competition, but rather something that should push you to try something new, different, and expand on your skills.