Random Orbit sander reccomendations

Dave Black

I need to get a ROS, I have used the dewalt 5" from lowes and it seems fine, except that the hook wants to pull off the pad. Something on the quieter side would be nice, and under $75-100

I have a Makita 5" that I have been using for probably eight years with no problem at all I also have an older PC 333 that works well. If I was buying new I would look at Bosch personally. I am a big Bosch fan.
Chuck

I have a 5" and 6" RO that I really like that are Bosch. I didn't pay too much for them, but def a couple of the best sanders I've used for dust pickup, vibration, and quality of job.

The other recomendation would be the Festool sanders which I now use, but these are out of your price range that you has stated!

i agree with brian on the bosch sanders dust collection and one suggestion i would do is to get a PSA pad for them if they dont come with one.. PSA paper gets a flatter surface and makes more use of the abrasive

I have a Festool 6 inch. Good sander, but I hate their paper (although Klingspor now has good alternatives.)

I used two Makita 5" sanders to the point of wearing them out; had them both rebuilt, and they are dying again. They were great, fairly aggressive, no hand (vibration) problems, fairly quiet.

I got a Porter Cable 5 inch about $50. Okay, but I am not really fond of it... not sure why.

I got a Bosch 5 inch variable speed, about $75 from Lowes. It is now my favorite.

I have a Bosch ROS20VS. The dust filter is absolutely amazing. It is quieter than my other unit (It was a gift. I cannot remember what it is. I'm upstairs and it is down in the shop). The Bosch runs smoothly.

I don't remember how long I have had it...definitely more than a year...less than three years. I really do like it.