Thread: Shaping sharpening skills

Spitting distance north of Detroit Michigan

Shaping sharpening skills

*Noob alert*
    I'm new to lathe tool sharpening{all sharpening to be honest}, & I'm curious if I'm headed in the right direction...this is my larger spindle gouge, not sure if it's 5/8" or 3/4" as I haven't given it much thought anyways, here's the edge/profile or whatever it's referred to as, that I put on it today...I've read that it should resemble a ladies{?} fingernail and with anywhere from a 30 to 45 degree angle...this was approx. 40 degrees, but it looks to me to be a little pointed if that makes sense...any thoughts, comments or suggestions whole-heartily welcomed...Thanks in advance

It seems to work OK for me, but my lack of skills and practicing on punky spalted maple has me desiring some more advanced observations...

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mini-DSCF3670.jpg 
Views:	60 
Size:	51.6 KB 
ID:	56784 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mini-DSCF3671.jpg 
Views:	56 
Size:	55.2 KB 
ID:	56785

Name:	mini-DSCF3672.jpg 
Views:	51 
Size:	56.3 KB 
ID:	56786 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mini-DSCF3673.jpg 
Views:	51 
Size:	47.9 KB 
ID:	56787

Name:	mini-DSCF3674.jpg 
Views:	47 
Size:	47.9 KB 
ID:	56788

this is what I've been playing with, from the deep dark dilapidated depths of my firewood stack

Name:	mini-DSCF3680.jpg 
Views:	55 
Size:	80.2 KB 
ID:	56789
    as brittle as my wife's nerves when I say I'm going to the borg

Name:	mini-DSCF3684.jpg 
Size:	80.7 KB 
ID:	56790
    Managed to save this little tid-bit

Name:	mini-DSCF3627.jpg 
Size:	85.5 KB 
ID:	56791
    The perception of perfection is perfectly clear to everyone else

I think the gouge looks great. I prefer the swept-back wings like that, and in fact have them a bit longer on most of my bowl gouges.