Shaping sharpening skills

*Noob alert*
I'm new to lathe tool sharpening{all sharpening to be honest}, & I'm curious if I'm headed in the right direction...this is my larger spindle gouge, not sure if it's 5/8" or 3/4" as I haven't given it much thought :eek: anyways, here's the edge/profile or whatever it's referred to as, that I put on it today...I've read that it should resemble a ladies{?} fingernail :dunno: and with anywhere from a 30 to 45 degree angle...this was approx. 40 degrees, but it looks to me to be a little pointed if that makes sense...any thoughts, comments or suggestions whole-heartily welcomed...Thanks in advance

It seems to work OK for me, but my lack of skills and practicing on punky spalted maple has me desiring some more advanced observations...

mini-DSCF3670.jpg mini-DSCF3671.jpg

mini-DSCF3672.jpg mini-DSCF3673.jpg

mini-DSCF3674.jpg

this is what I've been playing with, from the deep dark dilapidated depths of my firewood stack :rofl:
mini-DSCF3680.jpg
as brittle as my wife's nerves when I say I'm going to the borg :D
mini-DSCF3684.jpg
Managed to save this little tid-bit :eek:
mini-DSCF3627.jpg

I think the gouge looks great. :thumb: I prefer the swept-back wings like that, and in fact have them a bit longer on most of my bowl gouges.

The wood you're practicing on would give even an experienced turner a good challenge. Gorgeous stuff, but the punkiness will give anyone fits. The trick is to take light shearing cuts, but without being with you in person (or showing on a video, which I'm not set up to do handily right now) it's hard to describe what a shearing cut is.

I like the shape of your gouges but like Vaughn mine also have longer wings. The wood you are using is probably about as hard as it gets for new turning. I would look for some maple or cherry.