Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bandsaw boxes

Bandsaw boxes

I want to make some band saw boxes, but my first attempt was a flop. My 3/8 blade twisted. I've always had trouble with this. I know band saw boxes use what 1/8 blade or so right? That seems to me to make it really hard to hold something that small from twisting. Are those Carter bearings any good or their single bearing blade follower. ROCKLER sells them among others.

Thanks

Bill, have you "tuned" up your bandsaw? I am no expert on bandsaws, always pull out my "cheat sheet" before I start a box. My cheat sheet is a couple of good articles from a couple of wood magazines that I stapled together and stuck in a file box in a folder for such occassions. Blade tension is the first thing that comes to mind. The next thing that happens to my students frequently is they tend to push the material through to fast. Lastly, what kind of wood are you using to make your box? My boxes made of red oak are a lot more time consuming than the boxes made of popular. Oh, one more thing that comes to mind. A bandsaw blade really does dull quicker than I originally thought. Especially if it is the cheap ones like I put on the bandsaws at school. To insure success, before I start a run of bandsaw boxes, I put on a new blade. It is a joyful way to cut boxes with a good blade and it does insure success more often than not.
    Jon

God and family, the rest is icing on the cake. I'm so far behind, I think I'm in first place!

Host of the 2015 FAMILY WOODWORKING GATHERING

Bill..
    I have only been making bandsaw boxes for about a year or so. And surprisingly, they are turning out very well. I use a 3/16" blade from Woodcraft Bands. http://www.woodcraftbands.com/Pricing%20page.htm