Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Is something like this available?

Question Is something like this available?

I am not a total newbie to turning - first turned on (and probably ruined) my Dad's lathe when I had to pull up a Pepsi case to reach the on/off switch. I've been turning spinning tops recently and would really like to find a chuck similar to a drill press chuck that would screw onto the headstock (approximately 1/2 inch opening only).

Before I begin a fruitless search, has anyone ever seen something like this? I have a regular drill chuck but need the tailstock in place to use it on the headstock.

Is this what you're looking for?
    http://www.woodcraft.com/family.aspx?familyid=3975
    George

Hi Sandy, Welcome!

I find the drill chuck on a #2MT is a VERY useful addition to the lathe, there are a lot of things you can do with it. One point of caution, when you use it on the headstock of the lathe, in use it can and will come out of the headstock (as it slides into the MT as the drive center does).

You need a draw bar to use the drill chuck on the headstock safely.

What this is (in my case anyway) is just a long threaded rod (we used to call in "Ready-Rod") that threads into the back of the drill chuck and then has a nut or knob on the outside of the headstock, the back side of the head stock, I guess.

Make sense?

here is a pic I found online

Attachment 5434

That was from here

http://www.peterchild.co.uk/accs.htm

You say something about a drill chuck "Screwing onto the headstock"

Well I'm not sure what you mean, but a normal lathe chuck screws on, but the drill chucks that I've seen, they go onto a shaft that has a MT#2 on it and slide into the taper on the headstock end or the tailstock.

If you have a drill chuck on your drill press that is a MT#2, and you have a MT#2 on your lathe, you can just use the same drill chuck for both.