Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Grizzly Dust Collector Problems

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Decatur, Alabama
    Posts
    518

    Grizzly Dust Collector Problems

    I had a recent failure of my Grizzly dust collector remote relay switch. The screws that hold the circuit board for the push buttons/remote in place came loose from vibration, and got into the relay and shorted out the board. Grizzly replaced the box under warranty and everything is fine, but I thought I might point it out. If it hadn't been under warranty, it's a $150 part. You could of course change it to on/off switch for the relay, but if you want to remote switch or timer part, you gotta buy the whole box.

    It's very easy to check the screws if you have one to make sure they're not loose. I even noticed the push buttons I use occasionally seemed to be harder to push right before it failed, but didn't even think about the board being loose behind the panel.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    No, not all of SoCal is Los Angeles!
    Posts
    9,076
    Which model; although many models may have the same issue. Also where is your switchbox mounted, please?
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
    - Arthur C. Clarke

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Decatur, Alabama
    Posts
    518
    I have the 3hp cyclone, G0441 I believe. My relay box is mounted on the side of the cyclone currently. They relays/overloads are different, but I believe the remote relay box is generally the same for all of their 220v cyclones at least.

    To check it, just pop the cover open to the relay box. There's 3 screws that hold the circuit board to the front of the relay box cover, those are what came loose on mine.

  4. #4
    Jeb....Does Grizzly advise mounting it on the side of the cyclone? Did it come that way?

    The reason I ask, the US Navy spends a lot of money to isolate vibration from their electronics equipment used aboard ships and in aircraft. They do it for a reason.

    On my Oneida, the controller is mounted on the wall, not on the cyclone/DC itself.

    This could be a reoccuring problem. If I had to leave the controller mounted on cyclone, I'd advise using some blue (small thread, removeable) Loc-Tite thread locker to prevent the problem from reappearing.
    Ken
    ------



  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North West Indiana
    Posts
    6,098
    Thanks for the "heads up" on this problem.
    Ken states some excellent points and wonder if you could move your switch box to eliminate it getting shaken constantly during operation.
    Jon

    God and family, the rest is icing on the cake. I'm so far behind, I think I'm in first place!

    Host of the 2015 FAMILY WOODWORKING GATHERING

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Decatur, Alabama
    Posts
    518
    They actually have it as installed on the dust collector in the manual, but it is easy enough to move. If I ever get some time I plan on walling my dust collector in a closet and mounting the remote switch outside.

    I am going to get some threadlock for the screws, if I can just remember to buy it when I'm out

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Mountain Home, Arkansas
    Posts
    11,832
    Very useful thread.
    Glad Grizzly took good care of you.
    "Folks is funny critters."

    Think for yourselves and let others enjoy the privilege to do so, too. ~Voltaire

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    No, not all of SoCal is Los Angeles!
    Posts
    9,076
    Thanks Jeb. I just checked mine and they were OK. I put a small drop of plastic cement on each screw for added safety. I can sure see how a loose screw could play heck in there. I'm a better-safe-than-sorry kinda guy and really appreciate the heads up.
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
    - Arthur C. Clarke

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    GTA Ontario Canada
    Posts
    12,256
    Gents i think Ken has some very worthwhile points about the vibration.

    Forget whether the screws stay fixed or not. Worry about what the vibration is doing to the components. These components that they used are no ways military grade stuff or secured to a board in the same manner.

    I would move the board off the vibration of the dust collector if i were you guys. Had my fair share of this kind of real world experience in R&D.

    I think you seeing the difference with Oneida being engineered in the USA and manufactured in the USA versus the Grizzly stuff being done in China.

    There is no doubt in my mind hearing the Oneida guys have theirs seperate that they know about vibration. They build much bigger units too so they into this kind of thing in a bigger way than the hobby woodworking units Grizzly sells.
    cheers

Similar Threads

  1. Dust Deputy vs. HF Dust Collector
    By Mike Turner in forum Turning Tool Questions and Show & Tell
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-29-2015, 01:54 PM
  2. Dust Collector Problems?
    By Dave Richards in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-05-2014, 05:13 AM
  3. Help with a Grizzly saw and Excalibur dust collector
    By ed sautter in forum General Woodworking Q&A
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-29-2012, 01:18 PM
  4. HF 2 hp Dust collector
    By Garry Foster in forum Hot Deals
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-04-2011, 06:36 PM
  5. Grizzly G0583-Cannister Dust Collector w/remote
    By Scott Custer in forum Old Ads
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-09-2008, 05:34 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •