Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Stay Put Hose - Woodcraft

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    No, not all of SoCal is Los Angeles!
    Posts
    9,077

    Stay Put Hose - Woodcraft

    Through Aug 27 - 2-1/2" hose that I use on the DP and bandsaws, $7.99, 4" which I don't find all that useful but, others may, $9.99.

    http://www.woodcraft.com/Catalog/Pro...&ProdId=25937&

    http://www.woodcraft.com/Catalog/Pro...&ProdId=25938&
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
    - Arthur C. Clarke

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Oceanside, So. Calif. 5 mi. to the ocean
    Posts
    4,944
    I'm with Glenn. I use the 2 1/2 in. on the DP and on the lathe.

    On the DP I can put it close to the drilling, sanding, or whatever and it sucks up a lot of stuff. It also sucks the chips out of the Forstner bit, hole saw and regular drills. It is a REAL blessing with sanding (drum, SandFlea, paper held to spinning wood, etc.). However, it is still not perfect here.

    The next to last pic is just because it is pretty.
    The last pic is Glenn cutting off a bolt for a leveler on the new TS table. Big box does not sell all lengths

    First and Second pics show the stay put hose at the drill press. Note it is not resting on the fence nor on the DP table. Note the extra set of Tee tracks Glenn installed for me, closer to the drill. This is REALLY handy for hold downs.

    The use of 2 1/2 really, really, really sucks up most of the stuff from wood turning. The improvement is startling. I have hard DC pipe coming down close to the lathe. This splits into two 2 1/2 diameter sections that are 12 in collapsed and 24 in extended. I move these around depending on where the chips and wiggly worms are flying. It is not perfect here either. However, the improvement is wonderful.

    Pardon the messes (my shop is normally immaculate, ha, ha). I am in the process of completely rearranging the shop because of the new BS.

    The chipboard behind the lathe will be holding stuff I use at the lathe. The magnet unit is already installed and has some tools on it. The scrap sandpaper holding boxes are also installed at this time. More will be added to the chipboard. The turning tool holder was removed to move the lathe. It is normally at the right end of the lathe.

    Enjoy,

    Jim
    Last edited by Jim C Bradley; 08-20-2011 at 08:29 PM. Reason: Trying to get pics to stay in post
    First of all you have to be smarter than the machine.
    VOTING MEMBER

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Indianola, Ia about 12 miles south of Des Moines
    Posts
    440
    I don't see the mess or the other pics for that matter.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Oceanside, So. Calif. 5 mi. to the ocean
    Posts
    4,944
    Well Rex, when you get old your brains leak out. It took me about five tries to get the pics to stay. I spent time trying to get the pics at different locations within the text.

    Speaking of "...five tries..." Did you hear about the thrifty Scotsman (my wife is Scottish) who dropped his chewing gum in the chicken yard? Well it took him twenty-six tries before it tasted right.

    I would not have had guts enough to include the previous paragraph if my wife wasn't from the House of Glendowen and she thinks it is funny.

    Enjoy,

    Jim
    First of all you have to be smarter than the machine.
    VOTING MEMBER

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Indianola, Ia about 12 miles south of Des Moines
    Posts
    440
    That's a good one. I also need to get my eyes checked again. Its been 1 1/2 years. My problem is finding the pics to post after I resize them.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Oceanside, So. Calif. 5 mi. to the ocean
    Posts
    4,944
    Quote Originally Posted by Rex Bloem View Post
    My problem is finding the pics to post after I resize them.
    Glenn solved that problem for me. I'm set up so that all pics from either camera, download to a file called "PicsToResize."

    Then I go to the free program PIXResizer. I have the PIXResizer" download from:" default set to "PicsToResize." When it is through resizing (about 5 seconds) it puts the files in "PicsResized" by default.

    After I do whatever I want with the reduced pics I delete all files (almost always .jpg) from "PicsToResize." That way "PicsToResize" is ready for the next time I download pictures.

    If you get lost in all of the "Pics", "Resizes", etc. give me a PM.

    It is much simpler to do than it is to write about.

    Enjoy,

    Jim

    Basically this gives me a place where all pictures go in my computer (It is the Atlanta of the airlines. The saying is that you can not go to Heck unless you go through Atlanta). This one place is where PIXResizer always goes to get pictures to resize or where I go to get a picture to work on. Once the pictures are resized they always go to the same place for me to use them however I wish.
    Last edited by Jim C Bradley; 08-21-2011 at 02:03 AM. Reason: Shorter sentances
    First of all you have to be smarter than the machine.
    VOTING MEMBER

Similar Threads

  1. Stay
    By Don Baer in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-23-2010, 06:00 PM
  2. Woodcraft Dust Collection Hose any good?
    By Jim Mattheiss in forum General Woodworking Q&A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-02-2008, 05:28 PM
  3. I had Quintuplets +3 stay tuned for more info
    By Chuck Beland in forum Lathe Project Showcase
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-14-2007, 03:24 PM
  4. Domino - PLEASE STAY ON TOPIC
    By Rob Bodenschatz in forum New Tools
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 05-09-2007, 05:44 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •