Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Allen's Sound Meter Test Thread

Allen's Sound Meter Test Thread

I messed up. Royally.

Allen Levine had started a new thread describing his results from running his decibel meter in and around his shop. In the discussion that followed, it was suggested that Jim Bradley's post in another thread be copied over to Allen's new thread. "Easy job", says I. "I'm an Admin."

I copied Jim's post over to Allen's new thread, but since Jim's post was written a few days before Allen's thread was created, it showed up at the top of the thread, before Allen's initial post. Well, that didn't make much sense, so I figured I'd simply delete the copy of Jim's post and everything would be back the way it started.

Bad idea.

As it turned out, since Jim's old post was now the first post in Allen's thread, when I deleted it not only did Jim's post disappear, but so did all of Allen's thread and all the posts that followed his. And being the computer genius that I am, I "hard" deleted it, so as far as I know, there's no way to recover the lost thread.

I am a doofus, nimrod, idiot, wingnut, goofball, numbskull, blockhead, bonehead, cretin, dimwit, dork, dumbbell, dunce, fool, ignoramus, imbecile, jerk, kook, moron, muttonhead, nincompoop, ninny, nitwit, out to lunch, pinhead, simpleton, stupid, tomfool, twit, and overall worthless piece of junk. Even my dog doesn't like me anymore.

And, I'm very sorry for the mistake.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

workingwoods.com

I'm sure your dog still thinks you're OK.
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
    - Arthur C. Clarke

We forgive you...this one time

Let's just blame it on the meds...
    Programmer - An organism that turns coffee into software.
    If all your friends are exactly like you, What an un-interesting life it must be.