Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: A new turner's attempt....C and C please

A new turner's attempt....C and C please

I have been turning for about a month now and wanted to show y'all some stuff I did.

Being that I am an extreme novice, I used Oak firewood for every item. This way if I messed up too bad, it would go into the fireplace anyway

Please feel free to comment and criticize the work.

Also....what do you use for finish and how far down do you sand?

I have been going down to 800 paper and using sanding wax. Then clear varnish with CA glue for a finish. I want to try utilizing the new buffer now that I have one. So do most of you folks use Danish oil and then buff?

Thanks in advance
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DSCN1965.JPG   DSCN1966.JPG   DSCN1967.JPG   DSCN1968.JPG   DSCN1969.JPG  

DSCN1970.JPG  
    Anybody can become a woodworker, but only a Craftsmen can hide his mistakes!

The Bible tells us to love our neighbors, and also to love our enemies; probably because they are generally the same people.

Dom,

I'm "novicer" than you by two weeks and not really qualified to say yea or nay. But to me, they're beautiful! Keep it up. All I've done so far is a few pens from kits that came with my midi. Not even photo worthy yet. But, hey, I'm getting there....only 500 to go.

Joe
    "When the horse is dead....Get Off!"

Quote Originally Posted by Joe Kieve View Post
    Dom,

I'm "novicer" than you by two weeks and not really qualified to say yea or nay. But to me, they're beautiful! Keep it up. All I've done so far is a few pens from kits that came with my midi. Not even photo worthy yet. But, hey, I'm getting there....only 500 to go.

Joe
    Joe.....what special attachments do you need to do pens?

The Bible tells us to love our neighbors, and also to love our enemies; probably because they are generally the same people.

bethel springs TN, but was born and raised in north east PA