Thread: Major Combination Machine Manufacturers

Major Combination Machine Manufacturers

G'Day Folks
    Greetings from Australia

I'm establishing a new woodworking shop and wish to purchase, preferably a 5 in 1 machine, i am relunctantly willing to spend between $A10,000 to $A16,000.00 to achieve this.
    However i'm "very green", that is new to this whole process, and not even aware what is available in the market place. Can anybody suggest a few manufactures that i could look at.
    I have already traveled to the Minimax showroom in Melbourne and indeed the Felder showroom to look at some Hammer machines.
    I studied the Laguna website, but only seen a picture of the corresponding Robland machine.
    Can anybody suggest other machines i might consider in this price range, my intention is make furniture but the space in my shop is restricted so a combo seems to offer the best compromise.
    I particularly interested in hearing from people with "Hands on experience" with such machines, who can offer a critical performance based opinion.

Cheers Woodsy11

I have had limited experience with both Felder and Hammer and would be happy to have a combination machine from either one.
    Cheers, Frank

I had a Shopsmith for years and it served me very well. Very well decked out it would probably go for $5,000-$6,000.

www.shopsmith.com

Not sure of the shipping costs or if the electrics are compatible.
    Faith, Hope & Charity

Apples:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mark7_e.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	53.3 KB 
ID:	60849

Oranges:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	felder.png 
Views:	23 
Size:	103.2 KB 
ID:	60850

Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
    - Arthur C. Clarke

Well first of all Peter, welcome to the family if I haven't done so already. Even if I did welcome you before, welcome again!

Glenn, thanks for the comparison, WOW is that a machine!