Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wholesaling Rolling Pins - Now There's A Thought

Grand Rapids, MI

Wholesaling Rolling Pins - Now There's A Thought

Okay, so last year I started making French rolling pins. After getting a few wholesale orders from retailers I'm seriously thinking about trying to market them more intentionally.

Here's an order I just completed that will be sent to Singapore. 130 rolling pins in hard maple and cherry, two sizes. This order was a good opportunity to refine the production process, and at this point I think I'm ready to run with it.

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 135 Rolling Pins.JPG

No longer associated with Woodcraft. That's right, I am now a full time woodworker!

Los Angeles, CA
    Sounds like a good opportunity. Good luck with that.
    Chinese Proverb: Man who eats many prunes gets good run for the money.

Mountain Home, Arkansas
    Are you turning those individually?
    Nice kick off for a business start up.
    "Folks is funny critters."

Think for yourselves and let others enjoy the privilege to do so, too. ~Voltaire

Amherst, New Hampshire
    Faith, Hope & Charity

Oceanside, So. Calif. 5 mi. to the ocean

I have three questions:

1) You have answered this one already. You are getting paid enough to make it worth your while plus pay all expenses.

2) Will your body be able to keep up the pace you need to produce enough to meet the demand.?

3) If this grows are you making enough money to hire employees to do the turning and still make a profit?

And #4: Can you keep a decent set of books? Enough so you know where all money is going so you can adjust expenses by changing shipping methods or some other thing?

Enjoy and LOTS OF LUCK!

First of all you have to be smarter than the machine.

Goodland, Kansas
    I would jump at it Matt. If you are getting good enough money to make it worth your time why not.
    Bernie W.

Retirement: That’s when you return from work one day