Power Tools tune up

I have no experience of tuning up power tools. Soon, I will have to calibrate and tune up a couple of saws. I read Stu's thread of jointer tune up with great interest and I will probably re-visit it in the future. I noticed that he was using a oneway gauge to make the adjustments. Correct me if I am wrong, this tool was specifically made to calibrate jointer knives.

It is my understanding that there are kits like A-Line deluxe kit which can calibrate other power tools as well.

What do you guys use in your shop and how do you rate it's performance?

I use a square or several and a nice metal ruler. There are several web sites and you tube videos on almost every piece of equipment. But it is usually high school
geometry type stuff. It it parallel, square, tangent ect. one thing that often helps is a piece of white paper behind what you are trying to square up as it makes gaps more visible.

Basically blade 90 deg to table and parallel to to slot. Then miter gage square to table slot or blade. Lots of way to do the same thing. Here is a good description using both simple and more exotic.
http://www.thewoodshop.20m.com/calibrate_sled1.htm

Garry

Mohammad this is an aspect that i think does not need loads of cash spent on special tools to get right.

The most important part is understanding what has got to happen and how to get it to do it.

Then you can get the setting right with a variety of devices and some of the most simple ones are the best.

In the case of the jointer i do think that 1 way gauge is tremendous but my view is its very applicable in Stus case with an old machine and the way there are only two blades in his case.

But the key is understanding what he was doing and how to go about it. It also does take practice.