Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: pipe clamp question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Vancouver Island, Courtenay/Comox Valley, British Columbia
    Posts
    3,220

    pipe clamp question

    When you buy pipe clamps, and it says, for example, "for 3/4" pipe", does the pipe have to be threaded on one end?

    Good Morning Wood Folks from beautiful Courtenay, BC, where we have 2" of snow on the ground.....
    AKA Young Grasshopper Woodworker
    AKA The Rookie

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Independence, Kentucky
    Posts
    1,354
    Yes the pipe has to have threads on one end , it is best though to have both ends threaded to enable you to use a coupling fitting to make the clamps longer as needed.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Vancouver Island, Courtenay/Comox Valley, British Columbia
    Posts
    3,220
    Thanks Charles. You're the man!
    AKA Young Grasshopper Woodworker
    AKA The Rookie

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Delton, Michigan
    Posts
    17,470
    makes more sense to add on extension rather than have one long piece cynthia,, to a point.. you dont want 4-12" pieces to get a 48" clamp.. so use some logic when getting your pipe
    If in Doubt, Build it Stout!
    One hand washes the other!
    Don't put off today till tomorrow!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Vancouver Island, Courtenay/Comox Valley, British Columbia
    Posts
    3,220
    Logic? I figured to get 2, 7' and 2, 4'. LOML has to get a piece of metal from a metal guy for something different so I figured I'd use the opportunity for him to get me some pipe for clamps at the same time.
    AKA Young Grasshopper Woodworker
    AKA The Rookie

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    falcon heights, minnesota
    Posts
    5,604
    i have threads on both ends of my pipes. then again, i have 6', 4', and 2' pipes.
    benedictione omnes bene

    www.burroviejowoodworking.com

    check out my etsy store, buroviejowoodworking

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Croton, Ohio (about a half hour NE of Columbus)
    Posts
    153
    ...Be sure and get galvanized pipe. I have a few that are on black pipe and they've gotten to be pretty rusty.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Poway, CA, near San Diego
    Posts
    174
    I've always heard that you should use black pipe. The zinc coating on galvanized is soft and doesn't hold well.

    Bob

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    falcon heights, minnesota
    Posts
    5,604
    i've used black pipe now for several years, and not one spot of rust.
    benedictione omnes bene

    www.burroviejowoodworking.com

    check out my etsy store, buroviejowoodworking

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Painesville Ohio
    Posts
    131
    If you go to lowes or home depot buy 12' pipe. They will cut it to size and thread it for free.
    "Its only by minute attention to every detail that you will achieve perfection"

Similar Threads

  1. Everything Old is New Again - Pipe Clamp Pads
    By glenn bradley in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-30-2013, 05:37 AM
  2. Pipe Clamp Pads / Stands
    By glenn bradley in forum Jigs and Fixtures
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-02-2013, 09:04 PM
  3. Rockler pocket hole clamp question
    By Rob Keeble in forum New Tools
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-05-2010, 12:37 PM
  4. SketchUp Pipe Clamp Component
    By Dave Richards in forum Designs, Plans and Sketches
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 02-09-2008, 10:54 AM
  5. Pipe Clamp Mag Pads
    By glenn bradley in forum Jigs and Fixtures
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-14-2007, 05:38 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •