Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: dado set NEW questions please

Vancouver Island, Courtenay/Comox Valley, British Columbia

dado set NEW questions please

Good Morning!

I'd like to get a first dado set. My (Bosch) saw has a 5/8" arbor and usually takes a 10" blade. The dado set I want comes with either 6" or 8" blades. Can I use either 6 or 8? The 6 is slightly cheaper....

thanks
    Last edited by Cynthia White; 12-07-2011 at 04:47 PM.
    AKA Young Grasshopper Woodworker
    AKA The Rookie

yes, you can use either size. Ive been using the 6 inch freud set for 4 years.
    Human Test Dummy

Cynthia get a six. For the height you will require above the table for most things six will be fine.
    I will admit to wasting my money on an eight.
    If you can get a Freud. They have a great adjusting setup so you can dial in fine changes easily with no shims.

Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk
    cheers

Thanks Rob and Allen! I'll get right on it!
    AKA The Rookie

6" frued,, if they make the dial a width version in that size get it.. other wise the separate chippers with shims is fine
    If in Doubt, Build it Stout!
    One hand washes the other!
    Don't put off today till tomorrow!

Brooklin ON -- 45 mins. NE of Toronto, ON
    Quote Originally Posted by larry merlau View Post
    6" frued,, if they make the dial a width version in that size get it.. other wise the separate chippers with shims is fine
    If you consider the Freud dial a width, be certain to check out the total length of your saw arbour.

The details below are taken from Freud Tools .com!
    1. Inside Arbor Flange DiameteróIf the inside arbor flange is under 2-1/2" diameter you are OK. If it is over that, the Dial-A-Width will not work on your machine.