Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question for pen turners

Question for pen turners

Has anyone used solid surface for pens? I'm new to this idea but have been in the solid surface countertops for years. I have scrap pieces of a solid surface material that is 3cm or 1.125 thick. Wouldn't think you would need to glue this up but may infact need to trim it down. If anyone has used it how were the results? Have any idea if it is any good? I know it will ploish up well as I have to do that for signs and what not. I may have some to try and even share but it's not much and is basic colors. Let me know your opinions on this stuff. I have the 1/2 material as well in scraps but am not planing on making something with that just yet.
    Last edited by ed sautter; 12-16-2011 at 10:37 PM.

Ed, I and many others have used Corian countertop material for pens and other small projects. It turns very nice and leaves a very smooth finish.
    It's not what you achieve in life...It's what you overcome!

Brooklin ON -- 45 mins. NE of Toronto, ON
    Quote Originally Posted by ed sautter View Post
    Has anyone used solid surface for pens? I'm new to this idea but have been in the solid surface countertops for years. I have scrap pieces of a solid surface material that is 3cm or 1.125 thick. Wouldn't think you would need to glue this up but may infact need to trim it down. If anyone has used it how were the results? Have any idea if it is any good? I know it will ploish up well as I have to do that for signs and what not. I may have some to try and even share but it's not much and is basic colors. Let me know your opinions on this stuff. I have the 1/2 material as well in scraps but am not planing on making something with that just yet.
    Hi Ed; I'm somewhat confused by your statement 3 cm or 1.125 thick. 3 cm is approx. .762 in. in thickness. I had some 1/2" Corian that I was able to glue up and turn into pens and razors as well.