Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ford F250 Turbo Diesel

Ford F250 Turbo Diesel

Hey all, I've not posted for a while, but I do lurk almost daily......... Anyway, I'm looking (very seriously) at a 2005 F250 turbo diesel, V8 6L in very good shape. 51500 miles, 1450 hrs. I am totally new to diesels. It makes a lot of noises I'm not used to, especially the whining of the turbo. Also the previous owner put some sort of tip on the exhaust that makes it sound like a jet.

My question: is there any reason I need to walk away from this, or is it a solid engine? I'll have my mechanic look at it tomorrow, but any advise, wisdom, warnings will be appreciated.

BTW, I really like it, when you hit gas, that thing takes off!!

Thanks, Tony

Tony, BCE '75

my son in law has a turbo diesel and it sounds like a freight train on steroids. probably pretty much like yours sounds. he has a pretty big camper so thats why he bought a diesel. he gets great gas mileage but the fuel is about 35 cents more per gallon

Are you going to be pulling something heavy often
    Faith, Hope & Charity

I've got a 2000 F350 Diesel. Love it. Pulls like a train. Lots of weird noises...

Different engine than yours, so can't really comment. Only problem I've had with mine is a crankshaft position sensor went out once and the rats that nested in the engine bay...
    Programmer - An organism that turns coffee into software.
    If all your friends are exactly like you, What an un-interesting life it must be.
    "A door is what a dog is perpetually on the wrong side of" Ogden Nash

You can't believe the looks I get when I pull up driving Brent's F-350 double dulley and pop out of the cab. You're wife will love driving it.

Just checked in over at a few diesel forums. They say the 6 liter runs like a scalded cat. If it's been taken good care of, nothing there to worry about...

Well, Except you may go through an adjustment period where you have to really think about reaching for the green pump handle...