Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Corrective action needed

Corrective action needed

Hi. I am unskilled and need to tap your collective wisdom. I have been without a real closet in my bedroom for 30 years so it was with much excitement that my boyfriend and I had a professional install a veneer-lined and pine-trimmed closet. We chose to do the finishing ourselves ie. filling nail/screw holes and varathaning. My dear sweet boyfriend (who has very little experience with wood) incorrectly assumed that the closet first needed a thorough sanding with a power tool. It was a "Surprise!" for me. Now the wood is covered in a multitude of chatter marks How do I best tackle the problem of minimizing them? Thank you thank you for any advice!!! (Please bear in mind I am a novice.)

somewhere east of Queen Creek, AZ - South East of Phoenix
    Susan, First welcome to the forum, now what do you mean by chatter marks, maybe a picture would help us understand.
    "There’s a lot of work being done today that doesn’t have any soul in it. The technique may be the utmost perfection, yet it is lifeless. It doesn’t have a soul. I hope my furniture has a soul to it." - Sam Maloof
    The Pessimist complains about the wind; The Optimist expects it to change;The Realist adjusts the sails.~ William Arthur Ward

Welcome Susan!

Like Don said a picture or two would help us all advise you on the right course of action.

What kind of power tool did he use?

Was it a sander?

Something like this.....

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PC-353.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	10.6 KB 
ID:	64558
    or this...
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PCBR362VRBeltSander.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	13.5 KB 
ID:	64559
    It might be a case of just using a finer grit sandpaper, if he started out with an #80 that is very coarse, maybe he just needs to change to a #240 or even #320.

I'm sure we can help you out, but we need a bit more info!

Congrats on the closet!

Cheers!