Corrective action needed

Susan Hod

Hi. I am unskilled and need to tap your collective wisdom. I have been without a real closet in my bedroom for 30 years so it was with much excitement that my boyfriend and I had a professional install a veneer-lined and pine-trimmed closet. We chose to do the finishing ourselves ie. filling nail/screw holes and varathaning. My dear sweet boyfriend (who has very little experience with wood) incorrectly assumed that the closet first needed a thorough sanding with a power tool. It was a "Surprise!" for me. Now the wood is covered in a multitude of chatter marks :( How do I best tackle the problem of minimizing them? Thank you thank you for any advice!!! (Please bear in mind I am a novice.)

Welcome Susan!

Like Don said a picture or two would help us all advise you on the right course of action.

What kind of power tool did he use?

Was it a sander?

Something like this.....

PC-353.jpg
or this...
PCBR362VRBeltSander.jpg
It might be a case of just using a finer grit sandpaper, if he started out with an #80 that is very coarse, maybe he just needs to change to a #240 or even #320.

I'm sure we can help you out, but we need a bit more info!

Congrats on the closet!

Cheers!

welcome susan, and like the others have said pictures and info needed.. also another possibility is that if you were close to a member here they might be able to help you out. we are a pretty giving group and will help one another when ever possible.

Welcome. Sanding is a procedure of creating finer and finer scratches until the scratches are so fine that we call it "smooth". If the marks are gouges where the sander was moved too quickly or skipped as control was occasionally lost it will be a matter of "how deep" they are. You mentioned veneered with pine trim. Are we talking about thin wood skins on a particleboard or plywood base? If so, did the chatter marks cut through the veneer?

Sorry for answering a question with questions ;-)