Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Library Project

Library Project

I have been asked to give an estimate for a library unit and I thought I'd see what you guy think of this sketch. They are requesting the unit be cherry. I need to follow up with to verify if they want real cherry or a cherry stain. The ceiling is 9' high and the wall is 12' wide. This is my first attempt with a non-painted built in, so any suggestions or recommendations will be appreciated!

You asked! The center panel with the Arch is not right. The proportions are off. The height of the arch in the center to the top - then the skinny points it comes to the on the edges just don't balance out to me.

First thought is the edges need to be wider. Then you would need some sort of wider stile. Maybe an ornamental post? Not sure what but the balance and symmetry just isn't there on that.

YMMV for course.

Jeff
    God grant me the senility to forget the people I never liked anyway,
    the good fortune to run into the ones I do,
    and the eyesight to tell the difference.

Kudzu Craft Lightweight Skin on frame Kayaks.
    Custom built boats and Kits

I was wondering about the arch too. I may try and raise the arch a bit and add capitals to the columns. Each of the columns are fluted. Thanks, when I have some time this evening I'll try some rework.

Ed, have you thought of making the arch higher than the bays next to it in addition to wider columns or other methods to draw the eye to the center? You wouldn't even have to loose storage space in doing so, just put it behind doors that look like a contiuous frieze.

You could also move the whole center feature with the arch and cabinet below out an inch or so.

John

Just looked and I think I see what is wrong. (to me anyway). The radius needs to be larger so that that it is flatter. The ends would be higher up and I think that will go a long ways toward making it balance out.
    God grant me the senility to forget the people I never liked anyway,