Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: "Yellow box" bowl

Ararat Victoria Australia

"Yellow box" bowl

I was out at the family farm last week, cutting firewood, when i came across a fallen branch of a large "yellow box" tree, the tree is covered in thousands of tiny "spikes" As i cut up the limb, i noticed that underneath the spikes the wood was a different color and this extended into the tree by 2-3 inches, I've been cutting wood for around 10 years ( and selling for a couple of years, selling around 120 ton a year) and have only seen this a couple of times before, but never to this extent, i grabbed the bigger blocks and took them home whole, to cut down at a future date, this is the first bowl i have turned from this wood.

the bowl is about 10 inches across ( that's about as big as my lathe will handle ) and about 1 and 1/2 inches deep
    Its reasonably heavy wood, but turned and sanded well, i sanded down to 600 grit sand paper and it came up to an almost mirror finish, i applied a couple of coats of Scandinavian oil with a soft cloth and I'm very happy with the end result
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMGP0465.jpg   IMGP0461.jpg   IMGP0466.jpg   IMGP0462.jpg   IMGP0463.jpg  

Last edited by Bruce Thomas; 05-02-2012 at 11:00 PM.

DSM, IA
    Beautiful wood and bowl Bruce! Thanks for sharing!
    A man is rich in proportion to the number of things he can afford to let alone. -Henry David Thoreau
    My Website

Delton, Michigan
    i dont care how you spell it bruce, that is some fine looking wood and a very nice plater
    If in Doubt, Build it Stout!
    One hand washes the other!
    Don't put off today till tomorrow!

Goodland, Kansas
    That is a beauty as is the wood. Well done.
    Bernie W.

Retirement: Thats when you return from work one day
    and say, Hi, Honey, Im home forever.

To succeed in life, you need three things: a wishbone, a backbone and a funnybone.

Plainwell, Michigan
    DROOL......that is awesome all the way around