Working for yourself

Carol Reed

In Memoriam
With guys being laid off and needing to finding a new future for themselves, I find a lot of advice scattered here and there. Maybe we ought to have another forum for this topic. Just saying...

Back in the early '80's I was laid off by AT&T after 15 years. It took a while to appreciate all the things the company did that I did not have to do to keep the check coming every two weeks. One of those things was that someone else decided what my tasks for each day were. All I had to do each morning first thing was get to work on time.

So with regard to getting up in the morning, I discovered that having a to-do list so I know exactly what is on my plate first thing in the morning is a great incentive to get out of bed early.

There are many things I'd be happy to share with regard to working for one's self, if you are interested. I have been a self-employed woodworker since 1984. I've learned a few things along the way. A lot of them the hard way! Maybe I can save some of you some pain and trouble.

well carol,, as for the sub forum just having some info as to where to go, what to do and what to expect is a great help..coming from those that have been there.. just like the link darren sent me some time back of the 5 different phases that one will go threw.. as for the wood working aspect to get some income of any kind would be helpful in my opinion even if we dont look at it as a lively hood we can learn from it to make our hobby some what self sufficient perhaps.. i know i have looked at many avenues and still havnt got my plan of attack solid yet but i have learned a lot form those offering there input on this subject.