Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: moving my lathe out of the garage and into my spare bedroom?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    new york city burbs

    moving my lathe out of the garage and into my spare bedroom?

    is this a mistake?
    I havent touched my lathe in well over a year, maybe more like 2? not sure.
    Even though I have it mounted on a mobile table, I have to spin the table around and move all the other machines in the garage to access it, so I just dont.

    I have a small extra bedroom, that is currently my finish room,(but the room is hardly used as a finish room) not worried about dirtying or whatever in there, but Im concerned about getting dust and chips tracking throughout the entire house.

    The room has a brand new AC,naturally its heated, so I can try turning again,anytime, or should I say, start turning, during an evening, whenever, the noise wouldnt bother my wife whos upstairs.

    is this something Im going to regret? too messy for in home? Id clean up the mess each time I use it, as to avoid most of the dust going anywhere.

    anyone have a lathe in their homes? not garage or basement?
    Human Test Dummy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Schenectady, NY

    As you know, turning and sanding can be very dusty. I don't see a problem with the lathe in your spare room as long as you can keep the dust down for when you are finishing. I had 2 lathes in a bsement room that is about 10' x 12' and had a dust collector in there too. There was also my laundry folding table and a lot of my wife's storage. It was tight in there! But warm in the winter and cool in the summer.
    Don Orr

    Woodturners make the World go ROUND

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Reno NV
    If your wife lets you, do it!
    Programmer - An organism that turns coffee into software.
    If all your friends are exactly like you, What an un-interesting life it must be.
    "A door is what a dog is perpetually on the wrong side of" Ogden Nash

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Spitting distance north of Detroit Michigan
    That would be the cats meow IMO
    if your heating is forced air, you'd probably have to do something about the cold air return, dust-wise. Might also look into those self-adhesive draft sealer thingy's for use around the door jamb{s}...of course you'd also be closer to the frig which makes for tuff one handed gouge control

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    GTA Ontario Canada
    Dust would be my biggest concern. Given the amount of shavings and dust generated in turning and how hard it is too contain.
    Even with finishing in there. Allen you circulating the off gassing fumes with the forced air system.

    Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk 2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Amherst, New Hampshire
    A small portable DC would be your best friend. Plus one of these

    It works very well.
    Faith, Hope & Charity

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    new york city burbs
    there is no forced dry air heat. It is all hot water radiators(havent you guys seen all the radiator covers I made for my house? Am I not posting enough pictures?)
    bob, no intention of buying another dust collector and cluttering up the small room. The noise would make it an issue, and my daughter lives with us now during the school year, so Id rather not disturb her or my wife.

    my really only concern, is the dust and shavings.
    Its not like Im going to be turning chunks of wet wood all night long. Im thinking more along the lines of a bowl or pen every now and then.

    rob-Ive been finishing my furniture in my house for 2 years now, longer, counting my den area that I used to cover up and set up tables.
    I open windows and even at night, leave them open a bit with the locks on so fresh air circulates all the time, including the dead of the winter.
    Its only a few times a year Im using stains or poly, so its only a week or so at a time.
    (besides, Im beginning to use water based now and spraying in my garage, so I dont think Ill be doing much finishing in the house anymore)
    Human Test Dummy

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Delton, Michigan
    well allen if it would make you more room in the shop i would go for it,, the dust from sanding could be controlled by a fan out a window to some extent. like aold furnace fan sucking it away from the lathe.. the chips would be just a dust pan job.. they do make small DC,s that could be used in your room to control things better
    If in Doubt, Build it Stout!
    One hand washes the other!
    Don't put off today till tomorrow!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada
    I would do this if my wife would give up one of the spare bedrooms. With the lathe I wouldn't have the problem of moving big pieces of wood downstairs, and the front basement bedroom has an electric baseboard heater. And dust? That's what shop vacs are for. It would allow me to do turning n the winter, which I can't do now.

    The other member of Mensa, but not the NRA

    Everyone is a self-made person.

    "The thing about quotes on the internet is that you cannot confirm their veracity" -Abraham Lincoln

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Oceanside, So. Calif. 5 mi. to the ocean
    Dust and chips from the lathe are my biggest problem in the shop. I tried a Big Gulp; it did not even begin to do the job. I have the PennState 2hp DC2000 B dust collector. It works fine on the other machinery and the lathe is tremendously better than before I installed this DC. However, I still get dust and a dirty floor. I wear a dust mask; in fact it is essential with the lathe.

    All of my ducting is 6 inch Sewer and Drain Schedule 35. My turns are gentle. I have a slight downward slope towards the DC proper. My ducts are all clean inside. The unit works. However, it just cannot handle the lathe properly.

    My concern is this. I cannot control the dust adequately with my 8 foot tall, 2 hp, 1 micron unit. Unless you have an even larger unit, you are going to have dust circulating into the house. Unless you seal the lathe room off completely and enter and exit from outside everyone is going to get dust into their lungs.

    This picky old goat is going to shut up now---I've probably said too much already anyway.



    Yep! I did say too much. So I went back and deleted some stuff.
    Last edited by Jim C Bradley; 07-03-2012 at 04:09 AM. Reason: Removed unnecessary verbiage.
    First of all you have to be smarter than the machine.

Similar Threads

  1. Buy Spare Belt for Jet 1642
    By Mike Turner in forum General Woodturning Q&A
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-26-2013, 01:27 PM
  2. Spare me a few of your thoughts
    By Rob Keeble in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 05-04-2011, 03:55 PM
  3. Moving...Delta BS220LS and spare blades
    By Greg Cook in forum Old Ads
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-13-2008, 04:38 AM
  4. moving a lathe
    By Bill Pealer in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-30-2008, 01:29 PM
  5. Hey buddy, can you spare an aluminum?
    By Rennie Heuer in forum General Woodworking Q&A
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 06-22-2007, 07:19 PM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts