Shaper Question.

Well lets see... This might seem like a stupid question, but I have to ask it. My wife gave me a 1.5 horse power shaper from Grizzly (anniversary gift). I purchased a set of shaper cutters from Wood Craft online. The problem that I am having is, I'm not sure which way is up on the cutters. I have never used a shaper before.

I installed the raised panel cutter and tried shaping a piece of pine, only to have burning, smoking as if it was a very dull cutter.

I'm assuming the cutter is installed up side down, but I haven't changed it yet. I was just to frustrated to deal with it! Ugg!

Thanks,
George

Hi George, welcome to the family! :thumb:

No such thing as "Stupid Questions!"

Saying that, I do not have an answer for you, but I'm sure someone will be along soon that does,

Smoke and frustraions on a new cutter would seem to indicate that something is not right.....:dunno:

Got any pics of the offening tool :D

Cheers!

Raised panel cutters on shapers can be installed either way.

Cutter down, material goes under the cutter, fed right to left.

Cutter up, material is on top of cutter, fed left to right. [Shaper rotation is reversed]

I run mine with the material under the cutter, fed right to left.

No doubt it was upside down if it was smoking. You were burning off the wood :D instead of cutting it.

Two things come to mind. One, most (many??) shapers are reversible, so you maybe able to change the directions of the spindle for that cutter. If you talking raised panel cutter or some other large cutter, I want the cutter under the board away from my hands!!

As for the cutter, you want the cutting edge, the flat face to be turning toward the wood as you feed it in. Does that makes sense? Going to find a photo for show and tell.

rotation.jpg

Here is what is on my shaper. But notice the flat face of the cutter? That should be facing the wood as you feed it in. I am betting you have your facing away from the wood.

Jeff