Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: can we talk about the weather?

can we talk about the weather?

Temp got to 111 degrees in Little Rock, Arkansas yesterday. We are in northern Arkansas and temp did get over 100 degrees. My daughter lives in LR but like almost everyone there she is staying inside with the A/C.
    As a former cattle farmer I feel terrible about what farmers and ranchers are going through in these conditions. What little hay is available is priced out of sight.
    And no end in this situation is seen by the forecasters.
    I have only mowed my yard once this year but will have to get up about 5 a.m. one day soon to do it. Grass isn't growing but the weeds are doing just fine.
    Y'all take care out there. Don't risk overworking in the heat. It can be deadly.
    "Folks is funny critters."

Think for yourselves and let others enjoy the privilege to do so, too. ~Voltaire

Mowing the grass is something that I have not missed much. I would rather have it green though. I think I heard our weatherman say that we have only had two days this month under 90 degrees. We have had probably 7-10 days 100 or more.
    It's not what you achieve in life...It's what you overcome!

We went away for the weekend and the temps stayed in the high 70s and low 80s. We had 95+ temps where we were. We get back and it's back to the high 90 here again. I'm still watering a few flowers every couple of days, but have let everything else go to brown crumbly mess.

Shop time is now called sweat time for me.
    A man is rich in proportion to the number of things he can afford to let alone. -Henry David Thoreau
    My Website

I was commenting to my wife this morning that I was surprised we haven't seen more grass fires than we have. I'm going on 6 weeks since my last mow, I could probably walk around with a weed wacker and take care of what weeds have popped up though.
    Darren