Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Opera browser

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    GTA Ontario Canada
    Posts
    12,251

    Opera browser

    Any of our techies or members use or have used Opera browser. I am looking for feedback on what its like never used it myself but am in the market for a new TV and see Sony make use of it as a built in browser on one of their TVs.

    Also anyone every used a built in skype feature on a flat screen tv before. I see thats another option kicking about.

    Thanks for any feedback on these features.
    cheers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    ABQ NM
    Posts
    30,014
    I haven't used Opera for years, and even then it was only briefly. On a TV, though, I don't think it's gonna make a huge difference what browser is being used, since the human interface is different on a TV anyway. Plus, a Web-connected TV is not really a device to do serious web roaming with...it's more geared for browsing Hulu and NetFlix.

    My dad recently bought a Sony with "Google TV". I played with it a bit when I set it up for him. I have no idea what browser it was using (I suspect it's some variant of Chrome), but whatever was on there was intuitive enough that it was pretty easy to figure out. You've got an address bar, forward and back buttons, and (I think) a home button. The interface is a remote that looks like a Gameboy controller with a miniature QWERTY keyboard. Not something I'd use to write a book, but more than ample for crawling around YouTube.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

    workingwoods.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    GTA Ontario Canada
    Posts
    12,251
    Thanks Vaughn for the input just what i was looking for. I am thinking though with the new flat panels having two USB 2 inputs it should be possible to put a blue tooth keyboard on them and have better browsing ability than trying to use the remote control "keyboard".
    Whats amazing me is the total lack of info the manufacturers have about their sets. Even trying to get hold of manuals online is a bit of a mission. I am once bitten twice shy right now with techie gadgetry so lots of research before i drop any coin.
    cheers

Similar Threads

  1. Is this Possible?? Browser Question
    By Paul Douglass in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-15-2013, 01:34 PM
  2. Philadelphia Opera Company
    By Dan Mooney in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-02-2010, 10:32 PM
  3. LSOs Browser Time Outs
    By Stuart Ablett in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-15-2009, 02:40 PM
  4. new to Mac need browser help
    By Kevin Brown in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-19-2007, 02:10 AM
  5. Browser auto resize test
    By Greg Cook in forum Site Questions and Test Posts
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-07-2006, 05:43 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •