Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Thicknesser problems

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Ararat Victoria Australia
    Posts
    49

    Thicknesser problems

    Hi All, i have just purchased a "carbi-tec" 15 inch thicknesser ( second hand ) It seems to run very well, but after a few minutes use, the thicknesser cuts out, it doesn't seem to matter if its under load or just running in between passes. After a couple of minutes, i press the start button and off it goes again - I don't have a lot of patience at the best of times, so getting just a little annoyed as to why this is happening - so i will leave the floor open to the members, any ideas guys .. please ??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    No, not all of SoCal is Los Angeles!
    Posts
    9,076
    Circuit breaker of thermal overload on the motor(?). Is the motor or power cord hot to the touch? I see a 15amp 240v circuit recommended. Is your outlet provisioned correctly; wire gauge, outlet, etc.? All just things to check. It is still sold so a manual should be available. HTH.
    Last edited by glenn bradley; 09-20-2012 at 12:47 PM.
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
    - Arthur C. Clarke

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Oceanside, So. Calif. 5 mi. to the ocean
    Posts
    4,944
    Heck,

    I was going to reply to this Thread. However, Glenn seems to have touched all of the bases.

    Enjoy,

    JimB
    First of all you have to be smarter than the machine.
    VOTING MEMBER

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Mountain Home, Arkansas
    Posts
    11,825
    It may just be an oversensitive overload/overheat protection cut-off switch. This happened on my Grizzly planer when I first got it. It was a new modle. Griz folks replaced it and have since changed the switch.
    "Folks is funny critters."

    Think for yourselves and let others enjoy the privilege to do so, too. ~Voltaire

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Ararat Victoria Australia
    Posts
    49
    Thanks guys for the advice, the work shop has just been wired by an electrician (about a week ago ) and the thicknesser is plugged into a 15am 240v outlet, will have to get him back to check it out, had a look myself, but really, i don't know who I'm kidding, i have NO idea what I'm looking for !!!

Similar Threads

  1. Thicknesser tuning ? I found the problem!! UPDATED
    By Toni Ciuraneta in forum General Woodworking Q&A
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 04-28-2016, 05:51 PM
  2. Dewalt 733 Planer Thicknesser Problem
    By peter nash in forum General Woodworking Q&A
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-02-2011, 01:28 PM
  3. board problems?
    By Frank Fusco in forum Site Questions and Test Posts
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-04-2008, 02:38 PM
  4. Gustav: and you think *you* have problems!
    By Bill Lantry in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 09-11-2008, 11:04 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •