Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: sketchup free version ? pro version?

sketchup free version ? pro version?

I just started playing with sketchup for the first time. I downloaded the free version which seems pretty basic. I printed out a sketchup 8 ref. card but there seem to be twice as many icons on the reference card as there are on the sketchup tool bar.

the reference card says sketchup 8. Is there more than one free down load or am I just doing something wrong?

The website also says I can try sketchup pro for 30 days for free. It is something I might like to have. Is it very similar to the free version so as I would gain a lot of knowledge by playing with the free version for a bit and then I would be able to make better use of pro for the trial?

somewhere east of Queen Creek, AZ - South East of Phoenix
    moston here use the free version and it seemsto do everything needed. Dave Richards is the sketchup guru hereas well as publishing tuts on various woodworking web sites.
    "There’s a lot of work being done today that doesn’t have any soul in it. The technique may be the utmost perfection, yet it is lifeless. It doesn’t have a soul. I hope my furniture has a soul to it." - Sam Maloof
    The Pessimist complains about the wind; The Optimist expects it to change;The Realist adjusts the sails.~ William Arthur Ward

Quote Originally Posted by keith Boutselis View Post
    ...there seem to be twice as many icons on the reference card as there are on the sketchup tool bar.

the reference card says sketchup 8. Is there more than one free down load or am I just doing something wrong? ...
    Nothing wrong - you just havent selected enough tools yet.

Go to "View" - "toolbars" and select the large tool set. There are also several other selections in "View" so you can play around a bit until you get things looking like you want them.
    Jim D.
    Adapt, Improvise, Overcome!

Quote Originally Posted by Jim DeLaney View Post