A new project. A crib/bench

John Pollman

I just got back from meeting with a client. I've got to convert an old crib into a bench. I'm going to use the sides and ends of the crib to fabricate a bench. He owns a small furniture store in downtown Rochester and this is for a customer of his. I gave him a price and he said "let's load it up". So we put it in the back of the truck. I've got a little bit of work to finish up on another job tomorrow morning, but when I'm done I'll get going on this project. I've never done anything like this before, but I've got a pretty good idea as to what I'm going to do. I think he's had this for a bit and can't get to it so he called me to see if I would tackle it. The funny part of it is that a couple days ago, he got a call from another customer asking for the very same type of thing. So if this one goes well, I may have another one to do shortly. I'll posts pics of the project in process and complete.

Wish me luck! ;)

I have no doubt you'll do a great job. :thumb:

... The funny part of it is that a couple days ago, he got a call from another customer asking for the very same type of thing. So if this one goes well, I may have another one to do shortly...

Unless the person who called you is the furniture store guy's customer trying to do an end run since it's taken so long. :D

I've got the back section fabricated and plugged all of the holes where the hardware used to be. I'll trim off the plugs in a little while and sand them down. The seat blank is glued up and will be ready by the time I need it. I'm gluing up the pieces for the front legs right now. They'll be ready in the morning. Then I can engineer and fabricate the side/arm rest sections and get them built.

This has been pretty enjoyable. It's taking my mind off of my issues and allowing me to forget for a while. Being CONSTRUCTIVE is a good thing. Anxiety is a BAD thing. Keeping busy helps keep the anxiety at bay a bit.

John

I'm exhausted!