Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Non black "ebonizing" solution

Non black "ebonizing" solution

Does anybody know of other solutions that can be used to dye/ color wood. I know how to make the black ebonizing solution with vinegar and steel wool. Any solutions or chemicals for red, grey, brown, etc.

Transtint?
    Jim D.
    Adapt, Improvise, Overcome!

I fumed a piece of purple heart in ammonia once just messing around. It turned green. I'll see if I can fined the pictures. I've also heard that a lye solution will "age" cherry. I've never done it before. Ammonia will give it that aged look though. I fumed a cherry chest once and it looked great. I'll see if I can find those pics as well.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim DeLaney View Post
    Transtint?
    I forgot to mention that I wanted something that will react with the wood hopefully giving some variation in the color.

What kind of wood?
    Aqua Fortis acid a/k/a AF, will darken maple and bring out figure. I like to dilute it and apply a little at a time until the desired degree of dark and figure is achieved then wash with a weak base solution to stop the action. Used on fine gunstocks a lot.
    "Folks is funny critters."

Think for yourselves and let others enjoy the privilege to do so, too. ~Voltaire

Quote Originally Posted by Frank Fusco View Post
    What kind of wood?
    Aqua Fortis acid a/k/a AF, will darken maple and bring out figure. I like to dilute it and apply a little at a time until the desired degree of dark and figure is achieved then wash with a weak base solution to stop the action. Used on fine gunstocks a lot.
    Quarter sawn red oak in this case, but I was looking just in general. I would like to expand my finishing knowledge.

i was reading in one of my magazines the other night, don't remember which one, but this guy used dyes for coloring leather for ebonizing. perhaps that is something to be looked into, as the dyes come in different colors.
    benedictione omnes bene