Whats your day job?

Ryan Mooney

Staff member
Curious what folks day job is (in general terms)?
How or if it has anything to do with woodworking?

I'll start:
  • Computer jockey (sort of hybrid system admin/programmer and no I don't do windows :D :thumb:). :type:
  • Nothing, but its a great way to get your head put back on right. :bonkers:

I help run a woodworking forum. :D

On the side I'm a computer jockey (surprise) too, 99% programming anymore, but used to manage mid-range systems. Nothing to do with woodworking, grew up building stuff and always been a part of me.

I am a Facilities Manager for an injection molding Co. i have 30 molding machines,80 support equipment,3 buildings, and 600 molds i am responsible for.

Environmental Control Systems Chief Operating Officer.
Being unemployed I am {yes Dear} in charge of sanitizing of dishware, flooring, clothing etc. total maintenance & control of the HVAC systems{filter changes, window & door openings & firewood consumption}. Also over-see the security dept. which includes feeding & bathing them{not mentioning the clean-up} & providing medical care via the local Vet.

As to relating to wood working, my 'think-tank' room supplies the majority of the necessary wood for the heating dept. :D

I teach welding, small engines, large engines and wood turning at our local high school.
Drive a school bus, dedicated route am and pm.
We raise generally 10 calves and 10 hogs per year for freezer pork and freezer beef for local customers.
With the drought, we have sold down to only feeding 4 brood cows this winter along with the team of Fjord ponies, grandkids ponies, and three saddle horses.

Retired from 30+ years as a Tool & Die Maker. Now working 3 days a week at a local hardware store just to keep socially active. Been into woodworking since school, 50+ years.