Using a router for pattern cutting

Sean Wright

This weekend I am going to be designing & building a stool for my 2 year old son. If it works out, I may be making a few for different people.

I have 1/4 in MDF that I plan to use as a pattern for the sides of the stool.
I plan on using a pattern bit on my router table to refine a rough cut of the sides pieces of the stool (the sides will be made of 3/4 in poplar plywood) . This way I should be able to duplicate the stool fairly easily.

I was going to make a sample pattern and try it out before I do the real thing, just to get used to doing it.

I have never done pattern routing before. If anyone has any tips or suggestions, it would be appreciated.

Hi Sean, and happy snow belt to you.:)

I have used the pattern idea in making some shelf supports for the shop. I found that it is just as easy as it sounds/looks. If I were doing it, I woould use at least 1/2 in. mdf for the pattern. The extra 1/4 in. gives you a little extra room for the router bit guide bearing to ride on. Also, be careful, I lost a little concentration on my last cut, and ended up pealing back the skin on the edge of my right hand. Not fun at all, but it healed up just fine and you have to look hard to see the scar.

Hey Sean,
Here's a few tips.

Spend a lot of time getting that pattern perfect, smoothing curves, etc. any small blemish will telegraph to the stock.

If you have a curve, to make it perfectly symmetrical, make your pattern only 1/2 of the curve, then flip it for the symmetrical other half.

When you have a pattern you like, use it to make more patterns. The original will eventually get nicked, worn down, etc.

When routing a curve, be aware of grain orientation. Unless you are taking a very thin cut, going against the grain may cause tearout. When you see a grain change, just flip the piece over and attach the pattern to the other side.

Try to make the rough cut no more than 1/16th proud of the line.