TS3650 - 6" or 8" Stacked Dado Set?

David Agnew

Hi all. I'm asking for advice again. :eek:

I have a Ridgid TS3650 1.5hp contractor saw.

Lowes is clearing out their CMT 8" 12-tooth dado sets for $54. It's a special Lowes part number w/ a slightly thinner plate than CMT's standard tool.

Is the 3650 big enough to spin it satisfactorily?

I've never used a dado set before, so this would be a new thing for me. I'm willing to buy a cheap tool to see if I need/like/want a good one. The tool itself has mid-level reviews - it's normally a $100 set. People complain about QC on the chippers... some folks have gotten a single chipper that's slightly taller and will groove the bottom.

Otherwise, I'll spend more on a Freud set....
6"x12, $85
8"x12, $100
6"x24, $185
8"x24, $200

Thanks!

I've heard it both ways...you need a big HP TS to use a 8" dado, but I've also heard that dados usually aren't that deep so HP shouldn't really matter. Did that help? :huh:

Edit: For what it's worth I know for a fact that 2 of the Woodsmith/Shopnotes editors use one of these in their own shops. I plan on getting one next month (birthday gift for myself)

Last edited:
Turns out I have both the CMT 8" set and the Freud 6" set. The Freud set I have has an anti-self-feed design. I got it for the radial arm saw. I really like the cut of that set. I have had the CMT set for some years. Finally had to send it out for sharpening. Cost more than the $54 you could pay for a new set. I have used it only in the table saw which is a cabinet saw much more powerful and larger that your saw. I'd check to see if there is room to swing an 8" dado set in your saw. The diameter is not the thing, but the width is. That might sway your decision. Personally, in your set-up, Id go with the 6" Freud.

I used an 8" dado set on 1.5 p saws for about thirty years, and never had a problem - so long as the dado set was sharp. I often made ¾" dados, ¾" deep, in maple or oak.

Your saw should have no problem.