Raised Panel Door

Sean Wright

I am in the midst of working on a cabinet with shelves for my family room. Usually before I build something I have never done before, I make a practice run. This raised panel door is my practice run for the 3 doors that I will be making for my cabinet. I made this from pine. It was done using a set of rail and stile router bits that I picked up from Rockler. The panel was raised using a horizontal panel raising bit, again from Rockler.

side note:
-- you might have noticed that I get a lot of stuff from Rockler, it just that they have a store about 25 minutes from my house, so its a matter of convenience. When it comes to router bits and the like, i prefer to buy them in person.

Attachments

• door1.jpg
    door1.jpg
    39.6 KB · Views: 70
  • door2.jpg
    door2.jpg
    32.3 KB · Views: 47
Looks great Sean, I got my RP bits from Rockler too, and I made some practice doors as well.............

door_standing.jpg

Pine rails and stiles, and a lamcore plywood panel, worked well.

Cheers!

Looks great Sean, I got my RP bits from Rockler too, and I made some practice doors as well.............

door_standing.jpg

Pine rails and stiles, and a lamcore plywood panel, worked well.

Cheers!
Stuart,

Did you have any problem with tear out when you raised the plywood panel? Also was that horizontal or vertical panel rasing bit? Did it have a back cutter?

My panel raising bit is horizontal without a back cutter. After doing this practice panel, I determined that I will need to run the stock for the panel through my planer to take it down by about a 1/16 of an inch. This will give me the look that I want, as far as how much the center of the panel protrudes. I suppose that I could rabbet the edges (to create a back cut) in place of this step.

I used to rabbit the back of all my 3/4 panels, so the front was flush with the frame.