Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Classified Ads Won't Open

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Great Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    71

    Classified Ads Won't Open

    The Classified Ads forum will not open for me, all I get is a white screen. The only ad I can see in the one listed in the "Last Post" column.

    I am logged in and every other forum, sub-forum, and post will open fine.

    Any ideas?

    Tom

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Reno NV
    Posts
    13,361
    Very weird. I'm able to access it just fine. Can you give it a try in another browser? or maybe clear the cache in the one you are using?
    Programmer - An organism that turns coffee into software.
    If all your friends are exactly like you, What an un-interesting life it must be.
    "A door is what a dog is perpetually on the wrong side of" Ogden Nash


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Great Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    71
    Brent,

    I'm not great at woodworking, but I'm terrible at troubleshooting PCs. I am using IE8 and have Google as my home page.

    Try another browser - like something different than IE8? How?

    I opened IE8 Tools/Internet Options and deleted temp internet files, cookies, and history. Closed IE8. Opened it up again and came back here. Didn't help, still no Classifieds.

    Turned off Pop-Up Blocker, that didn't help either.

    Tom

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Thomasville, GA
    Posts
    5,994
    Other browsers are Mozilla Firefox (which I've used for years) and Google Chrome (I've been giving it a try). The classified ads open fine in both of them. I also tried IE9 on the ads and it worked fine.
    Bill Arnold
    Citizen of Texas residing in Georgia.
    NRA Life Member and Member of Mensa
    My Weather Underground station

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Reno NV
    Posts
    13,361
    Try downloading google chrome https://www.google.com/intl/en/chrome/browser/

    I only use IE if I need to debug something that someone only uses IE for.

    If you could send a screen shot to webmaster@familywoodworking.com, that would be helpful as well.

    These guys have a pretty good tutorial for sending a screen shot. http://www.viprasys.org/vb/f44/tutor...-image-112635/
    Last edited by Brent Dowell; 02-28-2013 at 03:38 PM.
    Programmer - An organism that turns coffee into software.
    If all your friends are exactly like you, What an un-interesting life it must be.
    "A door is what a dog is perpetually on the wrong side of" Ogden Nash


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Great Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    71
    Brent,

    Do you want a screen shot of what I get when I click on the Classified forum? It's pretty boring, Google header with tool bars, a white screen, and "Done" in the lower left corner. I'll send one along.

    Tom

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Reno NV
    Posts
    13,361
    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Blank View Post
    Brent,
    Do you want a screen shot of what I get when I click on the Classified forum? It's pretty boring, Google header with tool bars, a white screen, and "Done" in the lower left corner. I'll send one along.
    Tom
    I got your screen shot. That is very strange.

    There's really no reason that page shouldn't come up. You could try clearing your cache to see if that helps http://kb.wisc.edu/page.php?id=12314
    Programmer - An organism that turns coffee into software.
    If all your friends are exactly like you, What an un-interesting life it must be.
    "A door is what a dog is perpetually on the wrong side of" Ogden Nash


  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    13,448
    Tom, on the bottom left, what theme are you using? (vB4 Default, or one of the woody templates?)
    Darren

    To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Great Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    71
    Deleted temp internet files, cookies, and history again. Deleted the cache using instructions above. Theme is/was vB4. Got the same white screen result. Google has been nagging me to upgrade to Chrome for some time, may have to give up and try that.

    Will report results.

    Tom

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    ABQ NM
    Posts
    30,017
    I'm with Brent. Total head scratcher, this is.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

    workingwoods.com

Similar Threads

  1. Classified ad question...
    By John Pollman in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-13-2014, 10:36 PM
  2. Classified Ad Guidelines
    By Darren Wright in forum Classified Ads
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-07-2011, 10:07 PM
  3. This is a classified ad, which was actually placed in a UK newspaper:
    By Bart Leetch in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-17-2010, 01:58 AM
  4. Classified Ad Guidelines
    By Vaughn McMillan in forum Old Ads
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-03-2006, 07:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •