Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Dust Collector

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    S E Washington State
    Posts
    3,777

    Dust Collector

    I have the 2hp Harbor Freight dust collector. I've added the filter system from Wynn Environmental and have been very happy with the setup for my little shop. Today it quit! Turned it off, went to turn it back on and nothing. Now I know these have a history of switch failures and I am pretty certain that is the problem. fir those that have had the switch fail, did you try to get a new one through HF or did you do an after market type switch? If I go after market, any recommendations? This is the one I have:

    http://www.harborfreight.com/2-hp-in...tor-97869.html
    "We the People ......"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Billings Missouri near Springfield Mo
    Posts
    4,551
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Douglass View Post
    I have the 2hp Harbor Freight dust collector. I've added the filter system from Wynn Environmental and have been very happy with the setup for my little shop. Today it quit! Turned it off, went to turn it back on and nothing. Now I know these have a history of switch failures and I am pretty certain that is the problem. fir those that have had the switch fail, did you try to get a new one through HF or did you do an after market type switch? If I go after market, any recommendations? This is the one I have:

    http://www.harborfreight.com/2-hp-in...tor-97869.html
    Check the Grizzly catalog they have a lot of different switches that's what I used on my Delta
    A Turn N Time
    Components for John Smith Organs and the Hobby Organ Builder

    Frog Pond Guitars


    Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    S E Washington State
    Posts
    3,777
    Another thought I had, I have it plugged into a remote switch. Is it safe to just hard wire the remote switch in and use it that way?
    "We the People ......"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Bedford, NH
    Posts
    1,683
    Paul, when you say you have it plugged into a remote "switch" do you really mean a receptacle/outlet? I'm not an electrician, but I believe you could hard wire to a wall switch as long as the circuit breaker doesn't exceed the amp rating for the DC which appears to be 20A, and the wire gauge is suitable for the run distance.
    Thoughts entering one's mind need not exit one's mouth!
    As I age my memory fades .... and that's a load off my mind!

    "We Live In The Land Of The Free, Only Because Of The Brave"
    “The problems we face today are there because the people who work for a living are outnumbered by those who vote for a living."
    "
    Socialism is a philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy, its inherent virtue is the equal sharing of misery." Winston Churchill

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    S E Washington State
    Posts
    3,777
    When I say remote, it is a switch that I can start the DC with from across the room., I ordered a switch from Grizzly. Darn, shipping cost more than the swith!
    "We the People ......"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    new york city burbs
    Posts
    10,184
    I know absolutely zero about motors and switches, but you should check the start capacitor or run capacitor before you replace the switch.
    I know mine exploded it was pretty easy to see.
    Human Test Dummy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    S E Washington State
    Posts
    3,777
    I can see where the one terminal on the switch got a little warm. Nothing exploded, just wouldn't start. I checked it with a volt meter and no juice was getting through the switch. I'm pretty sure that is it, and if it isn't, well, I'll never admit it.
    "We the People ......"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    ABQ NM
    Posts
    30,002
    I'll bet you lunch it was the switch. (You've gotta come to NM to collect on the bet if I lose, though.) The switch on mine (same make and model) went out a year or so into its life. And it was almost never turned on and off, since I have the same type of remote and always left the switch in the On position. I just went to Radio Shack and picked up a toggle switch that was rated for 120v, and bodgered it into the existing switch box. (Sorry, no pics handy.) You should have no trouble getting the Grizzly switch installed. In the meantime, I'd think you could go ahead and put a jumper across the switch terminals and bypass it completely, just using your remote to turn it on and off. Keep in mind it's a 120v circuit, so chose your jumper method accordingly. You don't really want to start a fire right next to the collection bag. I think I'd unplug the remote from the wall anytime I wasn't in the shop, too, just to be safe.

    Al, the remote Paul is talking about is a box that's plugged into the wall, and the dust collector power cord plugs into the box. The wireless remote triggers a relay of some sort in the box and turns on the DC from anywhere in the room.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

    workingwoods.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    13,433
    Quote Originally Posted by Vaughn McMillan View Post
    I'll bet you lunch it was the switch. (You've gotta come to NM to collect on the bet if I lose, though.) The switch on mine (same make and model) went out a year or so into its life. And it was almost never turned on and off, since I have the same type of remote and always left the switch in the On position. I just went to Radio Shack and picked up a toggle switch that was rated for 120v, and bodgered it into the existing switch box. (Sorry, no pics handy.) You should have no trouble getting the Grizzly switch installed. In the meantime, I'd think you could go ahead and put a jumper across the switch terminals and bypass it completely, just using your remote to turn it on and off. Keep in mind it's a 120v circuit, so chose your jumper method accordingly. You don't really want to start a fire right next to the collection bag. I think I'd unplug the remote from the wall anytime I wasn't in the shop, too, just to be safe.
    +2 I'd replace the switch eventually, but bypass would work fine. My dad's 2hp table saw also ran for years off of 20 amp wall switches too, should work fine for this application too. Did the same on my delta until I put the safety stop switch on it.
    Darren

    To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    S E Washington State
    Posts
    3,777
    I have a switch ordered and it should be here next week. I say should because I ordered from Grizzly and I am one of the few that has not had a good relationship with them. I'm not going the hardwire route unless the switch doesn't show up. Not planning on much work that would require it for a little while. At my age, I don't breath much dust, because of all the hair that grows out and on my nose!
    "We the People ......"

Similar Threads

  1. Dust Deputy vs. HF Dust Collector
    By Mike Turner in forum Turning Tool Questions and Show & Tell
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-29-2015, 01:54 PM
  2. When does one really need a Dust Collector?
    By Al Launier in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 06-17-2013, 06:30 PM
  3. Do you use your dust collector?
    By Brent Dowell in forum General Woodworking Q&A
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 07-06-2012, 01:36 PM
  4. HF 2 hp Dust collector
    By Garry Foster in forum Hot Deals
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-04-2011, 06:36 PM
  5. Your dust collector
    By Mohammad Madha in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 02-03-2011, 02:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •