Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Projects

Lakewood , CA

First Projects

Hey All,

I'm new to woodworking and I thought I'd pop in to show off my first two projects. I recently acquired a used Delta table saw and the significant other decided we needed a chalk board. I did some reading and decided that I would float the chalk board in an oak frame with a coved bottom to hold the chalk and eraser. I made a couple mistakes which turned into good lessons but all in all I think it came out acceptable.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20130312_193929_046.jpg 
Views:	52 
Size:	44.8 KB 
ID:	74942

Chalk Board:

Name:	IMG_20130326_200734_793.jpg 
Views:	58 
Size:	78.5 KB 
ID:	74943

After receiving approval from the boss she sent me back to the garage to make picture frames. We went to Woodcraft and picked up a few goodies then off I went. Unfortunately I didn't think to photograph the process until it was near complete

Name:	IMG_20130407_175327_986.jpg 
Views:	57 
Size:	33.5 KB 
ID:	74945

Name:	IMG_20130407_175258_174.jpg 
Views:	54 
Size:	41.0 KB 
ID:	74946

Name:	IMG_20130407_110045_278.jpg 
Views:	54 
Size:	60.9 KB 
ID:	74947

I know these projects are super easy compared to a lot of the beautiful work posted here, but it's a start. Next I want to try something with drawers.

Thanks for looking,

Kansas City, Missouri
    First of all, Welcome to the family!

Great job on the blackboard and frames!

To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

No, not all of SoCal is Los Angeles!
    Welcome John. That's a far better saw than I started with, congrats on the find. Also, congrats on the first projects, they came out great. Every project teaches us something no matter how long we do this. That is one of the wonderful things about wood working for me, the constant challenges. Thanks for posting and we look forward to your company.