First Projects

John Zmuda

Hey All,

I'm new to woodworking and I thought I'd pop in to show off my first two projects. I recently acquired a used Delta table saw and the significant other decided we needed a chalk board. I did some reading and decided that I would float the chalk board in an oak frame with a coved bottom to hold the chalk and eraser. I made a couple mistakes which turned into good lessons but all in all I think it came out acceptable.

Saw:
IMG_20130312_193929_046.jpg

Chalk Board:
IMG_20130326_200734_793.jpg

After receiving approval from the boss she sent me back to the garage to make picture frames. We went to Woodcraft and picked up a few goodies then off I went. Unfortunately I didn't think to photograph the process until it was near complete

Frames:

IMG_20130407_175327_986.jpg

IMG_20130407_175258_174.jpg

IMG_20130407_110045_278.jpg

I know these projects are super easy compared to a lot of the beautiful work posted here, but it's a start. Next I want to try something with drawers.

Thanks for looking,

John

Welcome John. That's a far better saw than I started with, congrats on the find. Also, congrats on the first projects, they came out great. Every project teaches us something no matter how long we do this. That is one of the wonderful things about wood working for me, the constant challenges. Thanks for posting and we look forward to your company.

Very nice work, John. :thumb: They may seem like simple projects, but sometimes the simple projects can be the hardest. From the looks of the photos, you did great. The joints look tight and the splines really set things off nicely.

I know these projects are super easy compared to a lot of the beautiful work posted here, but it's a start. Next I want to try something with drawers.

You might think so.. but some of us still don't get our miters that tight all (or even most) the time either :rolleyes: :thumb: So really darn good job out of the gate!